On the fly Preview on Quanta (also, my first real code for KDE)

Since I begin to use KDE, my big desire It was to contribut with code, but I would have to study different things  (indeed that was what I wanted the most: a challenge), and I admit that I thought many times that I would never be able to do it.  So I decided to make talks about “KDE for Beginners” (beginners like I was), It was a quickly way to promote and contribut to FOSS, more quickly than to develop.

I made one talk before Akademy, in the Seminar of Free Software Tchelinux at Caxias do Sul, and after, I made two talks, one at International Free Software Forum and the other happened in the 4th Seminar of Free Software Tchelinux at Pelotas. In these talks I met more KDE users, and who knows coming soon contributors as well.

You can see pictures here.

But still my desire wasn’t fullfill, I wanted to code, and not just to promote, so I talked to Millian at Akademy, I started to study more and dig into the documentation, C ++ and Qt to develop a plugin for Live previewing webpages in Quanta. You can see It in action in the following video:


(any suggestion for the page preview plugin, or bug report would be great – I’ve already found some bugs and I have ideas how to fix and make it better)

Now I look the code and think “It was just it? These few lines of code? Why was I so afraid to don’t get it done?” That’s the reason I am writing here, to say: anyone can do it. All that errors in terminal are not Matrix. And the sensation after you got is very good :-)

And for me, this feeling is very similar to what I feel after a talk, I could describe it as “I did what I should done” , ’cause I don’t like to talk (indeed I still fell shy even to ask something on irc), but it is important. If you Know something good, you have to let the people know it. The FOSS is more than code (but still  prefer this part). It is very important to get more people involved.

Well, I wanna develop more (and quicker) and I will try to make others talks.  And I still have to choose something to develop for my conclusion work of faculty and of course I will do it for KDE!

Sobre Camila San
camilasan.com

35 Responses to On the fly Preview on Quanta (also, my first real code for KDE)

  1. Congratulations Camila!
    Great contribution!!!

  2. Melissa disse:

    Uhuuu Camila!! I wish I could be this awesome! Beijao! :)

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention On the fly Preview on Quanta (also, my first real code for KDE) « KDE Rio Grande do Sul -- Topsy.com

  4. Lamarque Souza disse:

    Congratulations, Camila :-) That is how it starts: doing small things. The first program I compiled just calculated the hypotenuse of a right triangle. I did not even create the program, I just copied from a book, but I was so excited anyway because it compiled and ran :-) Your plugin is so much cooler than my first program hehe. Keep up the good work. Bjos.

  5. Nice work! now make VIM do that too :D

    • Ivan disse:

      Vim already does that, and much more :)
      :wq

    • Camila San disse:

      tks.
      about the VIM: ok, I will… hehe

  6. Kurtins disse:

    This is great, please consider making this plugin available for quanta 4 when it comes out. Just an idea I think it may be not too difficult to code: a simple control panel form xampp to start/stop its services (there’s already a GTK version of a xampp control panel, but not a Qt).

    • Camila San disse:

      that’s an interesting idea. thanks.

  7. Niko disse:

    looks great; that should be added to quanta.

    • Camila San disse:

      yup, it will be added.

  8. Ivan disse:

    Congrats, ’tis nice that people at akademy didn’t scare you off :)

    Cheerio!

    • Camila San disse:

      Why the KDE people would scare me off? hehe
      I miss Akademy…

  9. Diederik van der Boor disse:

    > And for me, this feeling is very similar to what I feel after a talk, I could describe it as “I did what I should done” ,
    > ’cause I don’t like to talk (indeed I still fell shy even to ask something on irc), but it is important.
    > If you Know something good, you have to let the people know it.

    Spot on! This resonated soo much with me, lovely article, and keep up rocking the world! :-)

    • Camila San disse:

      I will try my best =)

  10. STiAT disse:

    Welcome to the world of C++, Qt and KDE Code. It’s fun, isn’t it?

    • Camila San disse:

      very fun! :D

  11. mutlu disse:

    Awesomeness! Thank you. :)

  12. Pingback: My first son. « Código é poesia

  13. akreuzkamp disse:

    Very nice, congrats and welcome on the code side of life :D
    Just one idea regarding the plugin: I would really love to be able to get a live-preview while editing css-files as this the task on which I need a live-preview most. Maybe this could simply be done by previewing the last opened html-file (but it would somehow need to use the changed, unsaved css-file as stylesheet instead of the saved one).
    but that maybe too difficult, but I also thought that such a plugin would be to difficult for the beginning…

    • Camila San disse:

      Thanks :-)
      I thought about that and I think that I must to do it ;)
      it would be very useful.

  14. Camila San disse:

    thank you all the congrats and encouragements :-)

  15. Pingback: Linux News » On the fly Preview on Quanta (also, my first real code for KDE)

  16. Andrew M disse:

    Awesome. Well done. Can’t wait to try this out.

  17. Andras disse:

    Nice, I’m happy that you made it!

  18. Tony disse:

    Hi Camila – this looks very useful. I just had two questions:

    1. Is it possible to try it out? – I checked out the source code but I am at a loss to install it (I tried compiling/making/installing and through Quanta plug-in dialog (needs .la file) etc. but I’m missing something)

    2. Do you or anyone know if Quanta is being actively developed. I use it every day for 8 years.

    Thanks.

    • Camila San disse:

      Hi Tony

      1. Did you compile/install kdevplatform and kdevelop before quanta? What errors happens to you?
      2. Yes, Millian is working on Quanta. And I am fixing some bugs in my plugin :D I hope to get it fixed as soon as possible.

      bye.

  19. jospoortvliet disse:

    congrats girl, good work :D

    Notice that once you’ve done something it’s almost always easy :D

  20. That’s nice!

    Hope your story to be well spread, so people who think “I can’t do that” will have their lesson.

    Congratulations !

  21. Pingback: Links 1/10/2010: Fedora Hiring, Ubuntu Starts Mobile Music Streaming, WebP Comes From Google | Techrights

  22. Pingback: The longest semester I’ve ever had. « KDE Rio Grande do Sul

  23. Pingback: Page Preview Plugin « Código é poesia

  24. Pingback: 15 anos de KDE « KDE Rio Grande do Sul

  25. Pingback: 15 years of KDE « KDE Rio Grande do Sul

  26. Pingback: 15 years of KDE | Só meu!

Deixe uma resposta

Seguir

Obtenha todo post novo entregue na sua caixa de entrada.

